krotnude.blogg.se

Endless space review ign
Endless space review ign






endless space review ign

Upset by their conditions, they're refusing to work, because it turns out that space is a pretty depressing place when you're stuck on a backwater desert world with a poisonous atmosphere. You may well have made great leaps in economics or propulsion technology, but your military is backward and your colonists are struggling on dirty and decrepit planets that urgently need terraforming. No, it's four completely separate categories, each an intricate, twisting vine of discoveries, and as you start to monkey your way up one branch you realise you're neglecting the others. You open up the game's tech tree and discover that it isn't simply a single thread of interdependent technologies, in the style of Civilization. How many do I mean by “scores”? About ninety.

endless space review ign

Want to alter the win conditions? To change the age, shape or make-up of your galaxy? Don't fancy any of the game's eight very distinct races and want to build a custom faction of your own? Sure, why not – there are scores of different race traits on offer.

endless space review ign

Even before you begin you're presented with a plethora of possibilities, a dozen different ways to tweak the game you're about to play. Just like a black hole, Endless Space sucks you in by being so incredibly dense: by being absolutely packed with content, options and choices, all of which it offers up in fresh combinations with every new game. I've given up making hot drinks while I play, since they either grow cold beside me or I forget to even pour the kettle and I find I have to boil the blasted thing again. I swear that my hair was noticeably shorter when I started reviewing this game. Amplitude Studios might as well have called their game Black Hole, because it has the most incredible ability to suck you in, to trap you and to somehow warp spacetime around you so that, on the rare occasions you're able to tear your eyes from the screen, entire hours have been lost. I know that I should be telling strategy fans that Endless Spaceis a great new take on a classic genre, but I'm worried that if people buy this game they'll all but disappear of the face of the earth, their friends reporting them as missing persons. The 3D battle scenes are nice to look at, but ultimately serve very little purpose because it is just watching a static battle, you have no control at all and because of that, you'll be skipping battles all the time.I'm caught in a dilemma.

#ENDLESS SPACE REVIEW IGN SERIES#

For me though, I would have loved the endless series more if they did away with the terrible and broken Over-colonization penalties, these have never worked properly - and always hurts the player more than the A.I, ES2 has even harsher penalties and severely limits the games appeal for me, since it really does prevent creating spawling empires, it heavily impacts conquests because you are forced to raze colonies so you don't go over your control limit and thus get hit with massive penalties which unfortunately even with tech/wonders can't really be offset by much, to be honest - I wish they would do away with this feature completely. For me A solid sequel to the original 4X game, however it is still currently plagued by some fairly nasty bugs and balance problems. A solid sequel to the original 4X game, however it is still currently plagued by some fairly nasty bugs and balance problems.








Endless space review ign